Believe in yourself and follow your dreams

Posted: May 5, 2011 in Humanities

I have a friend named Hayter Johan who owns a horse ranch in San Ysidro. He has let me use his house to put on Donation activity to raise money for youth at risk programs.

The last time I was there he introduced me by saying, “I want to tell you why I let Alan use my house. It all goes back to a story about a young man who was the son of an Acrobatics teacher who would go from stable to stable, race track to race track, farm to farm and ranch to ranch. As a result, the boy’s junior school career was continually interrupted. When he was a senior, he was asked to write a paper about what he wanted to be when he grew up.”

“He place a amazing offer of his center to the job as well as the subsequent evening he handed it in to his teacher. Two times afterwards he obtained his cardstock back. for the top web page was a tremendous red-colored F using a be aware that read, ‘See me subsequent class.’”

“The boy using the desire went to decide the instructor shortly after school and asked, ‘Why do I obtain an F?’”

“The instructor said, ‘This is definitely an unrealistic desire for just about any youthful boy like you. You have no money. You appear from an itinerant family. You have no resources. Owning a horse ranch needs loads of money. You need to purchase the land. You need to spend for the reliable breeding investment and afterwards you will have to spend large stud fees. There’s no way you can actually do it.’ Then the instructor added, ‘If you will rewrite this cardstock using a additional realistic goal, I will reconsider your grade.’”

“Finally, after sitting with it for a week, the boy turned in the same paper, making no changes at all. He stated, ‘You can keep the F and I’ll keep my dream.’”

Hayter then turned for the assembled celebration and said, “I inform you this account because of the simple fact you are sitting in my 4,000-square-foot home inside the center of my 200-acre horse ranch. I nevertheless have that college cardstock framed over the fireplace.” He added, “The pretty best element using the account may be the simple fact that two summers ago that exact schoolteacher brought 30 children to camp out on my ranch for just about any week.” once the instructor was leaving, he said, ‘Look, Monty, I can inform you this now. When i experienced been your teacher, I experienced been something of the desire stealer. All through individuals many years I stole loads of kids’ dreams. Luckily you experienced enough gumption to not provide up on yours.’”

Don’t let anyone steal your dreams, believe in yourself and follow your dreams.

Leave a comment